After meeting in a goods return line at Fry’s Electronics in LA in 2005, Philthy Animal Taylor and James Alexander Childs formed Little Villains. Owen Street completed the line-up, playing bass at early recording sessions. The group worked on many recordings at Phil’s place, James’s studio and Unit A studio in Palm Springs. James and Phil worked on and off on their recordings up until 2010. They’d discussed recording more, but Phil became ill and returned to England where he had more of a personal support system. Sadly, Phil died in 2015. Little Villains’ first album, “Philthy Lies”, was released on Heavy Psyche Sounds Records in 2019 with the blessing of Phil’s family. Chris Fielden joined the band, playing drums on tour. Owen Childs, James’s nephew, also joined, playing guitar. “The band features a heavy and hard rock ‘n’ roll sound, with fast-paced beats and riffs with a Motörhead feel. This album has a classic sound to it, with an old school, raw production. If you were or are a fan of Motörhead, I’d totally check Little Villains out.” Metal Temple review by Jared Lacks
“The music is heavy, raw, and showcases the sheer genius playing style that Taylor was known for. There are plenty of catchy rocking tunes. It has an unpolished sound that has not been over produced. The spirit and legend of Phil ‘Philthy Animal’ Taylor lives on in Little Villains. This is surely one that any Motörhead fan will want to have. Honest to goodness rock ‘n roll.” Metal Rules review by John Haseltine! The second album, “Taylor Made”, was released on Cleopatra Records in 2020, again featuring Phil on drums and James on guitar and vocals. Alan Davey of Hawkwind played bass on the album. Chris Fielden and Owen Childs feature on backing vocals and guitar.
“I found the music catchy, energetic, melodic, hard rockin’, vibrant and diverse, with a modern groove. Lots of character within the song structures. There, the musicianship is thrilling. Good solid vibe, great production, excellent song writing and fabulous vocals throughout.” Fireworks Magazine review by Nicky Baldrain.
Early in 2020, Little Villains recorded their third album, “Achtung Minen”, at The Stujo in LA. All the songs were written and recorded by James Childs, Owen Childs and Chris Fielden. The album received positive reviews and radio play throughout the UK, Europe and the US. It was released on Spira Records in November 2020.
“Achtung Minen bludgeons you with riffs, it’s brilliant. It’s my featured album of the month. Highly, highly recommended – it’s just a great album, a great bit of metal, great fun.” The Druids Dozen review by Jon Wisbey, DJ of The Sunday Rock Show on BCFM Radio and The Rock Druid Show on Astro Radio.
“A rebel rousing 15 track rock monster that seems set to conquer the metal universe… it’s rock ‘n’ roll infused metal with a strong focus on groove. Bassist James Childs also sings and his vocals sound uncannily like Frank Turner while guitarist Owen Childs is busy mining his instrument for incendiary riffs and drummer Chris Fielden sets about nailing his kit to the studio floor… the future belongs to the Little Villains.” Pulse-Alternative Magazine review by Alex Novak.
Little Villains had planned to tour the “Taylor Made” album in 2020, but COVID-19 meant all their gigs had to be cancelled. Late in 2021 the band started gigging again.
15th September 2022 sees the release of their fourth studio album titled “Battle of Britain”, a 10-track metal behemoth. The songs are performed by James Childs, Owen Childs and Chris Fielden, with guest appearances by Nick Davidge and Simon Hedges of Airbus.
Little Villains are planning to tour later in 2022 / early in 2023 and are working on new material in the studio.

Check out the video!

Check them out on Spotify and add them to your playlists!

Also available on Apple!

BATTLE OF BRITAIN is the fourth studio album from UK rock / metal band LITTLE VILLAINS, released on SPIRA RECORDS. The album features: James Childs on vocals / bass, Owen Childs on guitar and Chris Fielden on drums. The record also features guest appearances from Nick Davidge (guitar / vocals) and Simon Hedges (bass) of AIRBUS.
LITTLE VILLAINS play loud, hard and heavy. The band will be touring at the end of 2022. BATTLE OF BRITAIN was recorded at the Stujo in Los Angeles, California, USA, and comprises 10 songs. Total runtime 35 mins. Villainous videos have been made for the singles from the album: ‘Messerschmitt’, ‘Spitfire’ and ‘Watching You’. They’ll be released via the band’s YouTube channel and Facebook page in September and October 2022. More videos are in the pipeline.
LITTLE VILLAIN’S first two albums, PHILTHY LIES (Heavy Psyche Sounds Records) and TAYLOR MADE (Cleopatra Records), featured the late, great Phil ‘Philthy Animal’ Taylor from the classic MOTÖRHEAD line-up. The band continues to rock in memory of their friend.

Battle of Britain CD Track Listing (total runtime 35 mins, released on Spira Records – SR017):


Crying Out for More

Butcher Bird


In His Blood

Words of Insanity

Boy Next-Door

The Last

Watching You


Follow the band at these links: 

* The email will not be published on the website.